Technical Track chairs

 New Technologies for Electric Transportation​

Track Chairs : Yigeng Huangfu, Fei Gao, Giambattista Gruosso, Ritesh Kumar


 Power Systems and the Smart Grid, Renewable Energy Systems and Smart Grid​

Track Chairs : Andrea Benigni , Joao Martins , Thomas Strasser, Zhen Zhang , Alexandra Lekic

Electrical Machines and Drives​

Track Chairs : Thomas M. Wolbank , Jose Antonino-Daviu

Power Electronics & Energy Conversion​

Track Chairs : Antonio Cardoso , Sertac Bayhan

Control Systems​

Track Chairs : Lei Ding , Dong Yue , Hao Luo , Jianbin Qiu

Motion Control, Robotics and Mechatronics​

Track Chairs : Gabor Sziebig , Kenta Seki , Weichao Sun  

Instrumentation, Sensors, Actuators, Systems Integration and Nano-technologies​

Track Chairs :  Emre Sariyildiz, Seiichiro Katsura , Weiyang Lin 

Signal and Image Processing and Computational Intelligence​

Track Chairs :  HuihuiPan

Intelligent factory automation​

Track Chairs :  Moris Behnam , Luis Ribeiro

ICT and AI enabling smart cities, buildings, agriculture, energy efficiency and sustainability​

Track Chairs :  Jan Haase, Lei Shu , Daswin De Silva , Zhibo Pang

ICT enablers of autonomy and smart transport​

Track Chairs :  Thomas Strasser,Yang Shi,Kim Fung TSANG

Human centric ICT: Medicine, Assistive Robotics, Security and Ethics​

Track Chairs :  Chengbin Ma, Chugo Daisuke, Gerard Hancke, Stamatis Karnouskos

SS1 -  Advanced signal and image processing techniques for condition monitoring of Electric Machines and Drives
Organized by Jose Antonino-Daviu (joanda@die.upv.es) Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Roque A. Osornio-Rios (raosornio@hspdigital.org) Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro, México
Hubert Razik (hubert.razik@univ-lyon1.fr) Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, France

SS2 -    Artificial Intelligence Techniques for Cyber-Physical Microgrids: Applications, Challenges and Trends
Organized by Xiaoqing Lu (luxq@whu.edu.cn) Wuhan University, China

Jianxu Mao (maojianxu@hnu.edu.cn)Huhan University, China
Dongguo Zhou (dgzhou1985@whu.edu.cn) Wuhan University, China
Chang Yu (yuchang@wust.edu.cn) Wuhan University of Science and Technology, China

SS3 - Distributed Control and Optimization in Networked Systems and Their Applications

 Lei Ding (dl522@163.com) Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications

Xiaohua   Ge  (xge@swin.edu.au) Swinburne University of Technology
Maojiao  Ye (ye0003ao@e.ntu.edu.sg) 
Nanjing University of Science and Technology

SS4 - Advances in Multi-port Power Converters: Applications in Energy Systems
Organized by 
Immanuel Ninma Jiya (immanuel.jiya@ieee.org) University of Agder, Norway
Nand Kishor (
nand.kishor@hiof.no) Østfold University College, Norway
Tuyen Vu (
tvu@clarkson.edu) Clarkson University, USA

SS5 - Advanced Custom Power Devices for Power Quality Improvement

Hasan Komurcugil (hasan.komurcugil@emu.edu.tr) Eastern Mediterranean University, Turkey
Chi-Seng Lam (cslam@um.edu.mo) University of Macau, China
Qing Zhong (epqzhong@scut.edu.cn) South China University of Technology, China

SS6 - Intelligent Sensing Applications for Human Assistive Systems

Shin-ichi Ito (s.ito@tokushima-u.ac.jp) Tokushima University, Japan
Naoki Motoi (motoi@maritime.kobe-u.ac.jp) Kobe University, Japan
Masahide Ito (masa-ito@ist.aichi-pu.ac.jp) Aichi Prefectural University, Japan

SS7 - Advanced Control of Grid-Connected Converters for Distributed Generation and Power Quality
Hadi KANAAN (hadi.kanaan@usj.edu.lb)  Saint-Joseph University of Beirut, Faculty of Engineering – ESIB, Lebanon
Kamal  AL-HADDAD (kamal.al-haddad@etsmtl.ca) Ecole de Technologie Supérieure (ETS), Montreal, Canada
Fadia SEBAALY (fadia_sebaaly@hotmail.com) Ecole de Technologie Supérieure (ETS), Montreal, Canada

SS8 - Future-Proof Power Electronic Systems and Coordinated Control for Residential Microgrids
Nirav Patel (npatel@sharjah.ac.ae) Research Institute of Sciences and Engineering (RISE), University of Sharjah, UAE.
Ramesh C. Bansal (
rbansal@sharjah.ac.ae) Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Sharjah, UAE.
Ajay Kumar (
ajaykumar.ee@bitmesra.ac.in) Department of Electrical Engineering, Birla Institute of Technology, Meshra.
SS9 -  Conductive and wireless powering and battery charging technologies for electric mobility
Vincenzo Cirimele (vincenzo.cirimele@unibo.it) and Gabriele Grandi (gabriele.grandi@unibo.it), Department of Electrical, Electronic, and Information Engineering ‘G. Marconi’, Alma Mater Studiorum University of Bologna, Italy
Jianning Dong (j.dong-4@tudelft.nl) and Pavol Bauer (p.bauer@tudelft.nl) ,DC Systems, Energy Conversion & Storage, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands

SS10 - Advanced Propulsion and Charging Technologies for Electrified Transportation Tools

Chunhua Liu (chunliu@cityu.edu.hk) City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China

 Hang Zhao (hangzhao@ust.hk)The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Guangzhou), China

 Wei Liu (liuwei@eee.hku.hk)The University of Hong Kong, China

SS11 - Artificial Intelligence Methods for the Control of Power Electronics Converters
Giampaolo  Buticchi  (Giampaolo.buticchi@nottingham.edu.cn) University of Nottingham Ningbo China
Tomislav Dragicevic ( tomdr@elektro.dtu.dk) Technical University of Denmark                

Sergio  Vazquez (sergi@us.es) University of Seville

SS12 -Emerging Technologies of Wireless Power Transfer for Vehicle Charging Applications

Chi-Seng Lam (cslam@um.edu.mo) University of Macau, Macao, China
Fei Lu (fei.lu@drexel.edu) Drexel University, USA
Zhicong Huang (zhiconghuang@scut.edu.cn) South China University of Technology, China

SS13 - Advanced design and control of Modular Active Front-end Converters for automotive and stationary applications
Thomas Geury  (Thomas.geury@vub.be) Vrije Universiteit Brussel , Belgium  

Omar Hegazy (omar.hegazy@vub.be)  Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Sonia Pinto (soniafp@tecnico.ulisboa.pt) INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal

SS14 - Machine Vision, Control and Navigation
Oleg Sergiyenko (srgnk@uabc.edu.mx) Autonomous University of Baja California, Mexico
Julio C. Rodríguez-Quiñonez (julio.rodriguez81@uabc.edu.mx) Autonomous University of Baja California, Mexico
Wendy Flores-Fuentes (flores.wendy@uabc.edu.mx) Autonomous University of Baja California, Mexico
Moises J. Castro-Toscano (moises.castro@uabc.edu.mx) Autonomous University of Baja California, Mexico
Jesús E. Miranda-Vega (elias.miranda@itmexicali.edu.mx) National Technological Institute of Mexico /IT of Mexicali, Mexico

SS15 - New Emerging Technologies in Disturbance Estimation and Rejection
Youwu Du (duyouwu@jsut.edu.cn) Jiangsu University of Technology, China
Jinhua She (she@stf.teu.ac.jp) Tokyo University of Technology
Daisuke Chugo (chugo@kwansei.ac.jp) Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan
Mihoko Niitsuma (niitsuma@mech.chuo-u.ac.jp) Chuo University, Japan

SS16 -  Machine Learning for Cyberphysical Security and Resilience in Smart Grids

Mohamed Benbouzid (Mohamed.Benbouzid@univ-brest.fr) University of Brest, France
Mohamed Amine Ferrag (
ferrag.mohamedamine@univ-guelma.dz) University of Guelma, Algeria
Tarek Berghout (
t.berghout@univ-batna2.dz) University of Batna 2, Algeria

SS17 -  Optical Wireless Communication for Industrial Applications
Volker Jungnickel (volker.jungnickel@hhi.fraunhofer.de) Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute
Jean-Paul Linnartz (j.p.linnartz@signify.com) TU Eindhoven and Signify (Philips Lighting) Research
Armando Walter Colombo (awcolombo@ieee.org) University of Applied Sciences Emden/Leer, Germany
SS18 - Reliability of Autonomous Robots
Jan Lemeire (jan.lemeire@vub.be) Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Brussels, Belgium
Roy Sterritt (r.sterritt@ulster.ac.uk) Ulster University, Belfast, UK
Tristan Schnell (schnell@fzi.de) FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik, Mannheim, Germany
SS19 - Edge-Based Network Automation for Industrial Internet-of-Things
Hao Ran Chi (haoran.chi@ua.pt) Instituto de Telecomunicações and Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Kim Fung Tsang (ee330015@cityu.edu.hk) City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Hongxu Zhu (hxzhu@nus.edu.sg) National University of Singapore, Singapore

SS20 -  Predictive analytics architectures and applications for industrial systems – 2nd edition
Luis Lino Ferreira (llf@isep.ipp.pt) School of Engineering of the Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
Barış Bulut (baris@enforma-tr.com) Enforma Technologies, Turkey
Goreti Marreiros (mgt@isep.ipp.pt) GECAD/School of Engineering of the Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal

SS21 -Reinforcement Learning and Hybrid AI for control applications

Prof. Peter Hellinckx, Dr. Ali Anwar, Dr. Siegfried Mercelis, University of Antwerp, Belgium

 Prof. Weiyang Lin  Harbin Institute of Technology, China

SS22 - Recent Advances in Sliding Mode Control for AC motor systems
Minghao Zhou (zhouminghao@hrbust.edu.cn) Harbin University of Science and Technology, China
Yong Feng (yfeng@hit.edu.cn) Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Wei Xu (weixu@hust.edu.cn) Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Chaoxu Mu (
cxmu@tju.edu.cn) Tianjin University, China

SS23 - Emerging Topics in Ethics of Assistive Robots

Daisuke Chugo (chugo@kwansei.ac.jp) Kwansei Gakuin Univ., Japan

Stamatis Karnouskos  (karnouskos@ieee.org) SAP, Germany

Jan Haase (janhaase@ieee.org) Nordakademie, Germany

Jinhua She (she@stf.teu.ac.jp)  Tokyo University of Technology, Japan  

SS24 -  Power Electronics based New Techniques for Medium Voltage Electric Grid
Chandan Kumar (chandank@iitg.ac.in) Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India
Saad Mekhilef (smekhilef@swin.edu.au/saad@um.edu.my) Swinburne University of Technology, Hawthorn, VIC 3122, Australia and
University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur 50603, Malaysia 
Hiralal M. Suryawanshi (hms_1963@rediffmail.com) Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur – 440010, India
SS25 - Advanced Multilevel Converters with DC Capacitors: Topology, Modulation, Voltage Balancing, and Control Strategies
Mohamed Trabelsi (m.trabelsi@kcst.edu.kw) Kuwait College of Science and Technology
Hani Vahedi (hani.vahedi@ieee.org) Ossiaco Inc, Montreal
SS26 -   Advanced Control Techniques for Power Electronics Converters
Hasan Komurcugil (hasan.komurcugil@emu.edu.tr) Eastern Mediterranean University, Turkey
Sertac Bayhan (sbayhan@hbku.edu.qa) Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar
Ramon Guzman (ramon.guzman@upc.edu) Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
SS27 -   Distributed control, optimization and networked game and their industrial applications
Wangli He (wanglihe@ecust.edu.cn) East China University of Science and Technology
Wenying Xu (wyxu@seu.edu.cn) Southeast University
Wenli Du (wldu@ecust.edu.cn)  East China University of Science and Technology
SS28 - Hybrid Strategies for Smart Energy Management and Storage in Electric Vehicles
Kundan Kumar (kundan01012020@gmail.com) Electrical Engineering Department National Institute of Technology, Manipur, India
Vima Mali (vima.mali@sot.pdpu.ac.in) Electrical Engineering Department, School of Technology, Pandit Deendayal Energy University, Gujarat, India
Sanjeet K. Dwivedi (sanjeet.dwivedi@ieee.org) Drive Intelligence, Technology Research Group, Global R&D Center Danfoss Power Electronics A/S, Denmark
Ranjan Kumar Behera, (rkb@iitp.ac.inElectrical Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Technology Patna, India
SS30 -  Advances in Human-Mechatronic Systems
Daisuke Chugo (chugo@kwansei.ac.jp) Kwansei Gakuin Univeristy, Japan
Jinhua She (she@stf.teu.ac.jp) Tokyo University of Technology, Japan
Sho Yokota (s-yokota@toyo.jp) Toyo University, Japan

SS31 -   FUTURE-PROOF POWER ELECTRONIC SYSTEMS AND CONTROL FOR RESIDENTIAL MICROGRIDS
Dmitri Vinnikov (dmitri.vinnikov@taltech.ee) Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
Enrique Romero-Cadaval (eromero@unex.es) University of Extremadura, Spain
Joao Martins (jf.martins@fct.unl.pt) Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Roya Ahmadiahangar (roya.ahmadi@taltech.ee) Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia


SS34-Machine Learning for Renewable Energy Systems Failure Diagnosis and  Prognosis

Mohamed Benbouzid (Mohamed.Benbouzid@univ-brest.fr) University of Brest, France
Yassine Amirat (yassine.amirat@isen-ouest.yncrea.fr)  ISEN Yncréa Ouest, France
Tarek Berghout (t.berghout@univ-batna2.dz) University of Batna, Algeria

SS35-DC-DC Conversion- Power Circuits and Applications

Sagar Bhaskar Mahajan (smahajan@psu.edu.sa) Renewable Energy Lab, Prince Sultan University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. 

Sanjeevikumar Padmanaban (sanjeevi_12@yahoo.co.in) KPR Institute of Engineering and Technology, Tamilnadu, India

SS36- Power Electronics and Energy Storage Strategies for DC Microgrid

Sagar Bhaskar Mahajan (smahajan@psu.edu.sa) Renewable Energy Lab, Prince Sultan University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

Dhafer Almkahles (dalmakhles@psu.edu.sa) Renewable Energy Lab, Prince Sultan University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.
Sanjeevikumar Padmanaban (sanjeevi_12@yahoo.co.in) KPR Institute of Engineering and Technology, Tamilnadu, India

SS37- Advances in Data-Driven Process Monitoring and Control for Complex Industrial Systems

Hao Luo  (hao.luo@hit.edu.cn) School of Astronautics, Harbin Institute of Technology 150001, Harbin, P.R. China

Zhiwen Chen (zhiwen.chen@csu.edu.cn)  School of Information Science and Engineering Central South University 410083, Changsha, P.R. China

Okyay Kaynak(okyay.kaynak@boun.edu.tr) Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Bogazici University, Bebek, 80815, Istanbul, Turkey

SS38- Smart Sensors/Actuators and IEEE 1451 Standards for SG/IoT/IIoT/CPS

Cheng-Jen (Allen) Chen (c.j.chen@ieee.org) Innovatech Solutions, USA

 Eugene Song (eugene.song@nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA

 Kang Lee (kang.lee@nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA

 Victor Huang (v.huang@ieee.orgSage Technologies, USA

SS39- Industrial 5G/WiFi Technology and Standards for the Harmonization of 5G/WiFi and IIoT

Cheng-Jen (Allen) Chen (c.j.chen@ieee.org) Innovatech Solutions, USA

 Zhibo Pang (pang.zhibo@se.abb.com, zhibo@kth.se) ABB Corporate Research and Royal Institute of Technoloogy (KTH), Sweden

 Kim Fung Tsang (ee330015@cityu.edu.hk)  City University of Hong Kong, China

 Victor Huang (v.huang@ieee.org) Sage Technologies, USA

SS40- Sliding mode-based fixed-time intelligent control and its application in aerospace unmanned systems

Jun Song (jun_song@ahu.edu.cn) Anhui University, China

Zhiqiang Ma (zhiqiangma@nwpu.edu.cn) Northwestern Polytechnical University, China

 Ganghui Shen (shenganghui@nwpu.edu.cn) 

Northwestern Polytechnical University, China

SS41- Smart Cities Interoperability and Connectivity

António Espirito-Santo (aes@ubi.ptUniversity of Beira Interior, Portugal

Vincenzo Paciello (vpaciello@unisa.itUniversity of Salerno, Italy

Reza Abrishambaf (abrishr@miamioh.eduMiami University, Ohio, USA

Gustavo Monte (gustavo.monte@ieee.orgUniversidad Tecnológica Nacional, Argentina

Victor Huang (v.huang@ieee.orgSage Technologies, USA